Thank you to everyone who made a nomination for the Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care. 

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2023 Award is Gemma Sayer, a bereavement support midwife at Airedale General Hospital in West Yorkshire.

Gemma was nominated by Sarah Weatherly whose baby Rory died in 2020. You can read our news story about Gemma and find out more about why Sarah nominated her. 

Find out more about all the shortlisted nominees:

- Dr Amelia Shaw 
Barbara Gergett
Beth Wallace
Bev Beaumont
- Candice Noonan
Faye Biggs
Gemma Sayer
Kerri Birkett
Louise Martin
Lucy Trotman
Olivia Bunker
Sharon Hurst

Nominations for the 2024 Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care are now open! 

The Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care aims to recognise the vital work done by midwives, nurses, and other health professionals to care for parents affected by pregnancy loss or the death of their baby. 

So if you’ve been inspired by Gemma’s story and would like to thank a health professional whose bereavement care had a big impact on your wellbeing after pregnancy or baby loss please tell us why you think they should win

Image of Elaine Thorp

Who was Elaine Thorp?

Find out more about the woman who inspired this award.
Read Elaine's story
Midwife and parents

Nominate a health professional

Tell us why they should win an Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care.
Make a nomination
A parent is cared for by a health professional

Why bereavement care matters

Find out how good quality care helps bereaved parents.
Find out more
Exit Site