The Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care aims to recognise the vital work done by midwives, nurses, and other health professionals to care for parents affected by pregnancy loss or the death of their baby. 

Thank you to everyone who made a nomination for the Elaine Thorp Award for Bereavement Care. 

The shortlisted nominees for the 2024 Award have been announced! You can find out more about the health professionals and their nomination(s) below. 

The winner will be announced on Saturday 22 June!

Anne Chien 

Barbara Gergett

Bev Beaumont

Gayle Brittain

Jacey Mason

Julie Wills

Karen Burton

Nicole Newton

Image of Elaine Thorp

Who was Elaine Thorp?

Find out more about the woman who inspired this award.
Read Elaine's story
A parent is cared for by a health professional

Why bereavement care matters

Find out how good quality care helps bereaved parents.
Find out more
Previous winner Gemma Sayer accepts the award from Chief Midwifery Officer for England, Kate Brintworth

Previous winners and shortlisted nominees

Learn more about those who've been recognised
Find out more
Exit Site