The Sands Award for Bereavement Care is a new Royal College of Midwives’ Annual Midwifery Awards for 2017.

When a baby dies, the care that parents receive from the health professionals can have a huge impact on their long-term wellbeing. Good care can help parents and families of a baby who has died through a devastating experience, and the positive impact of good care can have long lasting effects.

The Sands Award for Bereavement Care recognises excellence in bereavement care provision by maternity staff for women and their families when a baby dies. This award will go to a midwife, student midwife, maternity support worker or maternity team who provide high quality, parent-centred, empathic and safe bereavement care.

The RCM Annual Midwifery Awards will take place on 7th March 2017.

Shortlisted entrants for the Sands Award for Bereavement Care are

Bereavement care
Louise Bardon and Angela O’Toole
East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

HEFT Bereavement Team
Clare Beesley
Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust

Honeysuckle Bereavement Team
Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust

Using simulation-based education to teach students about bereavement care
Anne Leyland
University of Salford

Improving the care bereaved parents receive is one of Sands’ core aims. To achieve this we work in partnership with health professionals and others to minimise the risks of stillbirth and to ensure the families of those babies who do die receive the best possible care. Find out more about how we do this here.